Transitioning vs. Suicide

This is a response to a post by Jas Martinez called “An Open Window”.

Logan Silkwood
4 min readJan 7, 2022
Photo by Logan Silkwood

CW: Suicidal ideation, threats, and planning process discussed; absolutely no details of methods provided; all emotions have long since been resolved; discussion of why they are resolved and what thoughts and ideas helped me to survive

“My mother said I could be anything/I wanted-but I chose to live.”

-Ocean Vuong, Night Sky with Exit Wounds, p. 31

Hotline Resource: LGBTQ+ : Lifeline (suicidepreventionlifeline.org)

If they ask you what you need, and you don’t know what to say, you can always ask for someone to help you make a safety plan or distract you with a grounding exercise.

I started to respond to the words below, and realized I just had to write my own post about this to avoid leaving a giant wall of text under the original one:

“Do they think about the people in their lives and how it will affect them? Do they fear going or not going through with it? Do they care about who will find them and the damage or trauma that person will have to deal with?

--

--

Logan Silkwood

I’m a polyamorous, non-binary trans man (he/him). I edit for Queerly Trans, Prism & Pen, Enbyous, and Trans Love & (A)Sexuality. Twitter: @logan_silkwood.