That Time I Accidentally Flew in a Plane with a Teenage Pilot

My last truth or lies challenge response

Logan Silkwood
5 min readJan 20, 2022
Photo of a Photo by Logan Silkwood

Note: This is my third response to my own writing prompt. Would you like to join me? Follow the instructions here and tell me three stories: two truths and a lie.

I thought I understood most of her question.

At least I got the important words, more or less. I may have zoned out a little for the verb, the subject, an adjective, an object pronoun, and a noun mixed in there, but I had the general gist.

After several years of Spanish classes, I knew what I was doing. I must have missed the words “airplane”, “teenage child”, “fly”, and “you”, but I got the word “Santiago”. That’s a city. I knew all about the city I was located in.

This little misunderstanding could happen to anyone, even a native speaker.

What harm could come of just saying “sí,” rather than making this sweet, patient woman repeat the question for the umpteenth time?

--

--

Logan Silkwood

I’m a polyamorous, non-binary trans man (he/him). I edit for Queerly Trans, Prism & Pen, Enbyous, and Trans Love & (A)Sexuality. Twitter: @logan_silkwood.