SCIENCE FICTION/HORROR

I Was a Mangled Corpse in Their Minds (Trans Science Fiction Horror)

A concoction from the apothecary allowed me to see how I was perceived; what I saw was more than I’d bargained for

Logan Silkwood
5 min readSep 17, 2022

--

A statue of death is moving towards you, with the color of fire in the background.
Photo By Martin Hesketh (CC BY 2.0)

Tired of being humored by well-meaning people who grudgingly used my real pronouns and name, I went to the apothecary for a solution. How would I ever learn to pass as my true gender, if I couldn’t get genuine feedback on my appearance? I needed to know if each change I was making to my body was getting me closer to my goal to be seen as myself.

“I need to know how I’m truly perceived, so that I can work harder on communicating who I am to people. I need a magical potion allowing me to see myself through their eyes,” I told the old woman who answered the door.

Her obsidian eyes pierced through me, undressing me down to the bones. It was as if she could see everything I’d ever been, everything I was now, and everything I ever could be. She was measuring all of it, weighing my soul on the scales that were her own.

When she finally spoke, her slow words echoed, spoken quiet but sharp as shards of broken glass. In the music of her words was every voice that had ever existed using her vocal cords to deliver…

--

--

Logan Silkwood

I’m a polyamorous, non-binary trans man (he/him). I edit for Queerly Trans, Prism & Pen, Enbyous, and Trans Love & (A)Sexuality. Twitter: @logan_silkwood.