How I Coped When My Vulnerable Stories Went Unexpectedly Viral

Those 3 times I unwittingly participated in the #metoo movement and got skewered by random strangers from around the globe that all started arguing with each other about me

Logan Silkwood
17 min readJan 16, 2022
Photo by Logan Silkwood

CW: I included lightly edited versions of the 3 posts that went viral in this writing at Kitty Whitemore’s request. Blame her for this instigation, then follow her and read her great and more reasonably sized writings. They have since been changed to “friends only” under an anonymous social media penname that I used before on a platform that I’m not going to share here. They contain triggering language including sexual and physical violence (i.e. the “r” word). I don’t have access to most of the worst comments because I blocked what felt like half of the globe, deleting the words that hurt the most. Instead, I speak here about my emotions in response to what was said and the surprising catharsis that the trolls gave me. I then include, at the end, my less popular but much more satisfying love letter to trolls that I wrote in response to all of the comments that I received. Feel free to just skip to the clearly marked happy ending after the pretty tulip picture.

--

--

Logan Silkwood

I’m a polyamorous, non-binary trans man (he/him). I edit for Queerly Trans, Prism & Pen, Enbyous, and Trans Love & (A)Sexuality. Twitter: @logan_silkwood.